Annual Meeting & Scientific Session

2018 Annual Meeting & Scientific Session:
Early Bird Registration Now Open!

September 27-30, 2018 â”‚Renaissance Asheville Hotel 

NCPA is excited to host the 2018 Annual Meeting & Scientific Session in Asheville, NC from September 27-30!

Early Bird registration is now open until Friday, July 27! The price will increase $100 on July 28. So, don't wait to reserve your spot! (Please note, the registration form is automatically set to honor the Early Bird price. No special discount code is needed.)

The 2018 Program Committee has put together a clinical conference that features nationally recognized speakers from across the state and country to provide the most up-to-date reports on the timeliest topics in psychiatric medicine and mental health care. Here is a preview of scheduled speakers and topics:

  • Robert Post, M.D., Lithium's Greater Range of Effectiveness and Fewer Side Effects than Previously Imagined 
  • James McCullough, Jr., Ph.D., CBASP: Why Medication is Not Enough for Chronic Persistent Depressive Disorder
  • Vladimir Maletic, M.D., Biomarkers, Inflammation, and the New Mind-Body Science of Depression
  • Kelley Johnson, Ph.D., Sexual Behavior in the New Millennium
  • Tom Penders, M.D., M.S., D.L.F.A.P.A. and Chris Aiken, M.D., D.F.A.P.A., Light and Dark Therapy in Unipolar and Bipolar Disorders
  • Asa Cordle, M.D. and Mehul Mankad, M.D., D.F.A.P.A., What to Do When Your Patient is Still Depressed? A Debate on Interventional Treatments: TMS, Ketamine, and Beyond
  • Robyn Jordan, M.D., Pharmacotherapy for Addictions: A Practical Guide
  • Karen Graham, M.D., Treating the Whole Person with Schizophrenia: An Integrative Medicine Approach
  • Margaret Rukstalis, M.D., Clinical Update on POWER to Prevent and Treat Addictions
  • Sy Saeed, M.D., M.S., FACPsych, Top 10 Research Findings of 2017-18

On Saturday morning, there will also be a concurrent adolescent track hosted by the North Carolina Council of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (NCCCAP).

(The CME application process is currently underway. We will announce the number of credits you will be able to claim once the application is approved.) 

Still need your 2017 Annual Meeting CME Certificate? Email us for help. If you need to print a certificate you've already claimed login to your APA profile at, click “My Portfolio” and select the “Certificates” tab.


Hotel Information

The Renaissance Asheville Hotel is now taking reservations for the 2018 Annual Meeting. Reserve your room today, the discounted room block ends on August 29!

The Renaissance Asheville hotel offers deluxe rooms and suites that feature complimentary Wi-Fi, scenic views of the Blue Ridge Mountains, dog-friendly rooms, complimentary parking, and much more!

Hotel Information

2018 Resident Poster Session Information

The North Carolina Psychiatric Association and the North Carolina Council of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry are pleased to host the Poster Session taking place on Saturday, September 29 at the Annual Meeting & Scientific Session in Asheville, NC.

Poster Session Information

Sponsor a Resident!

Every year as a way to support training and education, the Psychiatric Foundation of North Carolina generously pays the registration fees for psychiatric residents to attend the Annual Meeting & Scientific Session. If you would like to provide support for a resident attending the Annual Meeting, please consider making a tax-deductible contribution to the Psychiatric Foundation of North Carolina. 

From the Residents...
“Thank you for making this conference affordable to residents via scholarships! I was so happy be able to present my poster and also participate in a number of activities due to the scholarship.” – Anonymous Comment from 2016 Evaluation Form

Click here to Sponsor a Resident by making a tax-deductible donation