PDF Print Email

The V. Sagar Sethi, M.D. Mental Health Research Award


The V. Sagar Sethi, M.D. Mental Health Research Award was created with an endowment from Dr. Sethi, a practicing psychiatrist in Charlotte and longtime member of the North Carolina Psychiatric Association and American Psychiatric Association. The award seeks to "honor a scientist for significant contributions to basic research in the neurosciences, psychology, or pharmacology at a molecular, cellular or behavioral level."

Award Criteria:

  • Significant contribution to basic research
  • Research has had a significant impact or is highly likely to have a significant impact on clinical psychiatric care.
  • MD, DO, MBBS, or PhD who is conducting active research in the United States
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted, although the nominee can assist in providing information
  • Must be available to present a lecture at the NCPA Annual Meeting and Scientific Session (September 8-11, 2016 in Asheville, NC)

Submission Details:

  • Submissions should include a 1-page nomination letter explaining the significance of the nominee's research and the nominee's CV.
  • Submissions may be emailed to kmilam@ncpsychiatry.org, faxed to 919-851-0044, or mailed to:

Psychiatric Foundation of NC
Attn: Sethi Award Selection Committee
4917 Waters Edge Dr., Suite 250
Raleigh, NC 27606

  • 2016 Nominations will be accepted beginning October 15, 2015.


  • The recipient will receive a cash award
  • Travel support to attend and present a lecture during the NC Psychiatric Association's Annual Meeting & Scientific Session in the fall